About IeSF

The International e-Sports Federation (IeSF) was founded by 9 national e-Sports associations on August 11, 2008 in Seoul, South Korea.

The International eSports Federation (IeSF) was founded by eight nations in a bold move to ensure that eSports is accredited as any other sport.

Eight countries met in 2008 to start the Federation. The eight countries at the founding General Meeting were Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Netherlands, Romania, South Korea, Spain, and Switzerland. Each member shared the same vision of where eSports should go.

From its humble beginnings, a number of other nations quickly applied for membership.

Thus, the IeSF was able to start its own World Championships. The first such World Championship was held in December 2009 in Taebeck, South Korea where the IeSF erected its own “eternal flame”. At all World Championships, the Annual General Meeting is also held so that all members can deliberate on the current issues.

2012 saw a massive breakthrough for eSports and the IeSF, as for the first time ever, World Championships were introduced for women.

World Championships

So far, World Championships have been held in:

  • 2013 – Bucharest, Romania
  • 2012 – Cheonan, South Korea
  • 2011 – Andong, South Korea
  • 2010 – Daegu, South Korea
  • 2009 – Taebeck, South Korea